No Time = Crock Pot Time

I was stressing about how I would manage to cook something healthy with no time to spare, so I decided it was time to break out my crock pot!  And what better to make in a crock pot than chili?  Unfortunately I completely underestimated the size of my crock pot and made way too much, which means I get to make another batch later on with no extra work!  It came really good, so I’m not complaining!

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground chicken (turkey probably would have been better but I had chicken)
  • 2 cans kidney beans, drained
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes undrained (I used one can fire roasted and one can no salt added)
  • 1 can Campbell’s Healthy Request Tomato soup
  • 1 bottle dark beer (I used Guinness)
  • 2 onions, chopped
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 large bag of frozen corn
  • 1/3 cup green onion, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • Shredded cheddar cheese

Directions

  1. In a skillet, brown the ground chicken and chopped onions.
  2. Mix all remaining ingredients in a bowl.  Add chicken and onions, and put mixture in crock pot
  3. Cook for 9 hours on low heat
  4. Top with shredded cheddar cheese and enjoy!

I served this with baked potatoes but it was so good and filling that we didn’t even want the potatoes.  This isn’t hot (it’s actually a little sweet) so if you like hot chili you’re on your own!

 

Bethany

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

